The University of Iowa

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

Autumnal Brahms

Nonstudent: $35
College student $10
Senior citizen $31
Youth $10
Thursday, October 16, 2014, 7:30 pm
Buy Tickets

Late in life (after flirting with retirement), Johannes Brahms composed two works for virtuoso clarinetist Richard Mühlfeld—two masterpieces rarely performed on the same program. An ensemble of superior musicians, including clarinetist David Shifrin, will share these lovely compositions.

The Musicians
Shai Wosner, piano
David Shifrin, clarinet
Erin Keefe, Alexander Sitkovetsky, violin
Mark Holloway, viola
Timothy Eddy, cello

The Program  •  All music by Johannes Brahms

Trio for clarinet, cello, and piano in A Minor, Op. 11
Sonata for violin and piano in D Minor, Op. 108


Intermezzo for piano in E-flat Major, Op. 117, No. 1
Rhapsody for piano in E-flat Major, Op. 119, No. 4
Quintet for clarinet, two violins, viola, and cello in B Minor, Op. 115

Approximately 90 minutes with one intermission

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact Paris Sissel in advance at (319) 467-4849 or at